How Firm a Foundation?

Jen and I went hiking in Purgatory Chasm yesterday. It may sound like hell, but it was actually pretty fun. I think I’m going to make it my Sunday morning habit. Celebrate the Sabbath in Purgatory. Just the right amount of irony.

So, we’re sitting there, freezing, having lunch at a weathered picnic table, and I say, “Why do you think they named it Purgatory Chasm?”

Jen says, “Well, Massachusetts was founded by a bunch of superstitious Puritans. They probably looked down this deep hole in the ground and thought it went half way to Hell.”

I love Jen.

 ****

It’s been another trying week. I told Pris yesterday that life is just a blur right now, and that is the perfect way to describe it. Trying to work 65 hours a week and go to school has caught up with me. I took a day off from Wendy’s this week, but then wound up working almost 14 hours on Thursday and then going in for a lunch shift on what was my normal day off. Needless to say, I didn’t get much done.

 So, I spent last night at Shell trying to play catch up, but my mind was sluggish and the material was more challenging than I’ve been used to. I have gotten pretty complacent and I’ve mistaken ease for infallibility. I just really don’t understand T-accounting, and it’s frustrating to bang my head against something repeatedly and still not understand it.

 I’m supposed to be smart, damn it.

****

But the weariness is getting to me. I’m losing sight of my goals and I’m *this* close to just saying screw it and just coast for the rest of the semester.

I’m avoiding the GREs, though I need to take them sooner rather than later. I need to make my short list of programs. Do I want to stay here? Go south? Venture west?

Do I want an orthodox program? If so, I really need to hit the math books. I need at least two Calcs and a Linear Algebra, which makes me wish I had just minored in math. Especially since I am leaning towards Econometrics.

Who ever thought the Christian Studies and Philosophy major would end up a stats geek?

One response to “How Firm a Foundation?

  1. Pingback: How Far the Fall « TSARD

Leave a Reply

