Clash of the Cultures

I never really copped to living in Mormon culture. I always thought of myself as someone who believed the Gospel, but never bought into the culture.

And that was a mistake. I didn’t understand until a few days ago that they are more intertwined than I thought.

What I failed to take into account is that being Mormon influences the way I look at the world. It’s a no brainer, right? But ultimately, our world view is our culture.

And it is easy to forget that other people don’t share your world views, even the things that you find are absolutely fundamental to who you are and what life is.

This sounded a lot more profound in my head. ::grin::

One response to “Clash of the Cultures

  1. our childhood holds us with chains we still hold dear.

    i can’t tell you how often i’ve tripped over mindsets i never would have credited myself harbouring if asked.

    i find the older i get, however, the more i find comfort in the continuity that that offers and less angst over seing my parents’ eyes staring back at me out of the mirror

Leave a Reply

