The Sweet Life

I’m easing into my summer life. Between overtime, dating, cleaning, baking, and television, the proverbial plate is full.

It’s not yet June, so I don’t feel like I am wasting my summertime stuck in the house, so I am taking advantage of it while I can.

My favorite part of the brownies is the crispy part, so I figured out that if I make cookies of the mix, the whole thing is crispy. I’m really experimenting so that I can make baked goods for others, but the mistakes are still delicious enough to fatten me up.

I’m rediscovering the joy that is the novel; I had been reading books that were interesting, but not especially enjoyable. Non-fiction just doesn’t have that same sparkle for me. I love reading stories that capture cultures other than my own, which is why I loved Interperter of Maladies. After what I predict to be a short stay with 1984, a book I never read in school, I am finally reading The Gift of Asher Lev. I absolutely loved The Chosen and The Promise, so this should be quite the mental treat.

And then, of course, there is the matter of boys.

I don’t seek them out. As previously demonstrated, my life is both full and satisfying, but dating opportunities don’t need seeking out, something I wish had been true earlier in life. Imagine my surprise that in the ordinary course of events, some boys will just ask, simply because they are interested.

And there is fun to be had; dinners in which conversation, passionate conversation, is participated in by both parties. Movies that are mutually enjoyable, and that tense, but sweet moment at the end, when you wonder if he wants to, and he wonders if you want him to.

And of course the funny moments, when pressed for physical intimacy that goes beyond current familiarity.

“C’mon. Really kiss me.”

“This is the first date. What kind of ho do you think I am?”

2 responses to “The Sweet Life

  1. What happened to S?

  2. Yeah, weren’t you engaged?

Leave a Reply

