Eating Better

 

The entire contents of my refridgerator are pictured above. Strawberry jam, mayo, butter, and a piece of chicken I rescued from the freezer to become part of my dinner tonight. (The surrounding items all belong to the family, who actually eat like normal people.)

Now. I’ve been trying to eat healthier, and failing quite fantastically. I have cut out fried foods almost entirely, and I have 15 less pounds to show for it, but that is about as far as it goes. Almost 100% of the food I consume does not come from my own kitchen. When I don’t feel like going out, I just don’t eat.

There is something very wrong with that.

The most ridiculous part of that statement is that I enjoy cooking. It’s a visceral, homey, inviting feeling the entire time I do it. And the pleasure of actually eating the food trumps it all. Fast food is cheap and easy, but it is completely unsatisfying. It makes eating into a chore, instead of a pleasure.

So, I have a new goal. Instead of focusing on eating healthier, I am going to focus on eating better, on actually enjoying every bit of food I consume. I figure that way, the healthier will take care of itself.

And I will take care of myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

